The Nose is a musical by Kit Goldstein Grant (book, music and lyrics), based on “The Nose” by Nikolai Gogol.


When Kovalyov’s nose jumps off his face and masquerades around St Petersburg as a high-ranking official, he sets out on a crazy journey to regain both his sniffer and his social position.

2017/2018 Production

The NoseNational Arts Festival: 29 June – 7 July 2017
The Drama Factory: 29 October 2017
Artscape Arena: 4 – 15 December 2018

Produced by Anex Theatre Productions. Director: Margot Wood. Costume Design: Margot Woods and Marie Jacobs. Production Manager: Alecia Daniels.

Pianist: Peter Lewis.

Cast: David Wilke (Kovalyov), Hilton Andries (Chief of Police/Ivan), Marzanne Kriek (Matroyska/Radinka – 2017), Jared Ethan Blake (Olga/Boris), Simthembile Gobeni (The Doctor/The Nose), Dawie Fourie (The Clerk).

2018 Replacements: Musical Director/Pianist: Andre Serfontein. Violinist: Kirsten Adams. Regina Malan (Matroyska/Radinka), Luvo Thamba (The Nose), Schoeman Smit (The Doctor), Devon Hull (Olga/Boris), Lubabalo Nontwana (The Clerk/Ensemble).

Reviews: BroadwayWorld South Africa, The Cape RobynCue. Overall Review Score: 88.

Something missing? Want to add or correct information? Please email the South African Musical Theatre Archive with the details, using the contact details at the top of the page.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s