The Rocky Horror Show is a cult musical in which sweethearts Brad and Janet discover the creepy mansion of Dr Frank-N-Furter, a transvestite scientist from Transexual, Transylvania. As their innocence is lost, Brad and Janet meet a houseful of wild characters, including Frank-N-Furter’s latest creation: a muscular man named Rocky.

Production Details

Artscape Opera House: 6 December – 12 January.
Teatro at Montecasino: 17 January – 1 March.

Presented by Pieter Toerien and Howard Panter. Producers: Pieter Toerien, Howard Panter and Rose Mary Squire for Trafalger Theatre Productions, Rocky Horror Company. Rocky Horror Company Directors: Richard O’Brien, Howard Panter, Trevor Horn. Executive Producer: Meryl Faiers. Finance: Martin Cook. For Pieter Toerien Productions: Ande Gibson, Mark Sage, Geraldine Swanepoel, Dylan Sage, Dean Roberts, Courtney Johnson, Darryl Evans, Michael de Beer, Progress Mphande, William Haycock.

Director: Christopher Luscombe. Resident Director: Anton Luitingh. Dialect Coach: Fiona Ramsay. 

Musical Director: Bryan Schimmel. Musical Arrangements: Richard Hartley. Additional Musical Arrangements: Simon Beck. Music Supervisor: Tony Castro. Keyboard Programmer: Mark Warman. Band: Bryan Schimmel (keyboard), Wian Joubert (drums), Christian Lombard (guitar), Stephen Maycock (bass), Jed Peterson (tenor sax).

Choreographer: Nathan M Wright. Associate Choreographer: Andrew Ahern. Assistant Choreographer: Katie Monks.

Cast: Craig Urbani (Frank N Furter), Kate Normington (Narrator), Didintle Khunou (Janet), Anthony Downing (Brad), Stefania Du Toit (Columbia), Zak Hendricks (Eddie/Dr Scott), Jarryd Nurden (Rocky), Marlee van der Merwe (Usherette/Magenta), Kristian Lavercombe (Riff Raff/Frank N Furter Understudy), Sean John Louw (Phantom/Riff Raff Understudy/Rocky Understudy/Eddie Understudy/Dr Scott Understudy), Usisipho Nteyi (Phantom), Jessica Sole (Phantom/Janet Understudy/Narrator Understudy), Robin Timm (Phantom/Brad Understudy), Andrew Ahern (Swing/Riff Raff Understudy/Frank N Furter Understudy), Tyla Dee Nurden (Swing/Magenta Understudy/Columbia Understudy).

Costume Design: Sue Blane. Associate Costume Designer: Christopher Porter. Costume Coordinator: Penny Simpson. HOD Wardrobe: Lineza Louw. HOD Wigs: Morne Lourens. Deputy Wardrobe/Assistant Wigs: Tinecke Peacock.

Set Design: Hugh Durrant.

Lighting Design: Nick Richings. Lighting: Glenn Duncan.

Sound Design: Gareth Owen. Associate Sound Designer: Matt Peploe. Sound Operator: Zara Gafney.

Production Managers: Simon Gooding and Matt Jones for SGPM. Production Assistant: Ande Gibson. Company Manager: Johan Kupferberger. Production Stage Manager: Alyssa Harrison. Assistant Stage Manage/Book Cover: Naret Loots. Assistant Stage Manager/Make Up Assistant: Nathan Kruger. Assistant Stage Manager: Brandon Moulder.

Reviews: BizCommunity, BroadwayWorld, The Cape Robyn, Theatre Scene Cape Town, Weekend Special.

Marketing Materials and Photographs

Something missing? Want to add or correct information? Please email the South African Musical Theatre Archive with the details, using the contact details at the top of the page.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s