Buddy – the Buddy Holly Story chronicles the rise to fame of pop music icon, Buddy Holly, from his first performances with Buddy Holly and the Crickets to the tour that saw him die in the infamous plane crash that also claimed the lives of J.P. Richardson (also known as The Big Bopper), Ritchie Valens and their pilot, Roger Peterson.

Production Details

Artscape Opera House: 28 March – 16 April 2023.
Teatro at Montecasino: 21 April – 28 May 2023.

Presented by Pieter Toerien by arrangement with Alan Janes.

Book by Alan Janes. Music and lyrics by Paul Jury, Robert Blackwell, John Marascalco, Buddy Holly,  Norman Petty, Jerry Allison, Chuck Berry, Kelly Isley, Ronald Isley, Rudolph Isley, Frankie Lymon, Morris Levy, J. P. Richardson, Bob Montgomery, Richie Valens, Felice Bryant, Boudleaux Bryant, Paul Anka and Bill Tilghman.

Director: Nick Winston.

Musical Director: Wessel Odendaal.

Cast: Jethro Tait (Buddy Holly), Bethany Dickson, Keaton Ditchfield, Michael Stray, Chad Baai, Simone Neethling, Gianluca Gironi, Thoko Jiyane, Che-Jean Jupp, Gerard Van Rooyen, Koketso Mere, Gabriela Dos Santos, Virtuous Kandemiri, Sindiswa Ndlovu and Morgan Marshall.

Set Design: Niall Griffin.

Costume Design: Niall Griffin.


To follow.

Marketing Materials and Photographs

The information on this page was sourced from press releases supplied for the production. Something missing? Want to add or correct information? Please contact the South African Musical Theatre Archive with the details via the “Contact” tab at the top of the page.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s